Ethiopia Administrative Regions, Cities and Population

Ethiopia is a Federal Democratic Republic composed of 9 National Regional states: namely Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, Southern Nations Nationalities and People Region (SNNPR), Gambella and Harari, and two Administrative states (Addis Ababa City administration and Dire Dawa city council). The national regional states as well as the two cities administrative councils are further divided in eight hundred woredas and around 15,000 kebeles.

Ethiopia covers 1,119,683 square kilometres with the population of 96.6 million (2013 est.), of which more than 84 percent live in rural areas.

Regional States and Chartered Cities of Ethiopia

Region Population
Addis Ababa 3,104,000
Oromia 32,220,000
Amhara 19,212,000
Somalia 5,313,000
Tigray 5,062,000


You may also like...